Call Us : 615-535-2705

Prevention Specialist

Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS)

Certification as a Prevention Specialist is based on internationally adopted professional standards established by the International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC). The Tennessee Certification Board recognizes two levels of prevention credentialing in Tennessee - CPS I and CPS II. ‚ÄčThe type of certification sought depends on the applicant’s level of professional work experience in the prevention field, educational background and knowledge base.

Full requirements about the Certified Prevention Specialist can be found in the CPS Manual. All applicants are required to read the CPS manual and become familiar with all requirements and policies related to certification before applying.

Download the CPS Manual (PDF)
Download the CPS 101 Presentation (PDF)

Ready to Apply?

All applications are online through the Certemy application system. To get started, applicants must self-enroll into an application to create an account*. Please read all requirements in the CPS manual before applying and only apply for the CPS level application you intend to complete. Changing your mind mid-process will require you to complete a new application.

*Note: When creating your Certemy account to begin an application, it's highly encouraged you use a personal email address (e.g. Gmail). This prevents disruption should you change jobs, or if your employer uses firewalls which may block important reminders from Certemy about your credential.

Certified Prevention Specialist Level 1 (CPS I) Self-Enrollment
Certified Prevention Specialist Level 2 (CPS II) Self-Enrollment